Siblings

They have each other. To grow up with. To play with. To pester one another. It is such a beautiful {& challenging} relationship to watch unfold. I wish there were guarantees that they would be close when they are older. But all we have is now, right? And right now they are buddies {except when Ella touches Buzz Lightyear}.

Elijah is very possessive over Ella–“she is MY Ella!” He loves to climb in her crib and play. He HATES it when she plays with his toys. He can make her laugh so easily. They are so different yet SO related. These pictures certainly capture some of their genetic similarities. Wow!DSC_0195


DSC_0182 DSC_0183 DSC_0184

I have one biological sister {12 years older} and two more {close to my age} by marriage. I love them ALL but I didn’t really grow up with any of them. I imagine that there is something special about growing up WITH a person every. single. day. Having to tolerate their annoyances, cope with disagreements and share the attention {as well as your bathroom}. I see now, as I watch my sweet littles, why God gives siblings.

Community is important, even when you are 3 or 11 months or 30 {which I am not quite…}. It helps us learn how to love one another and teaches us that life really is better when we aren’t alone. I am so glad that my kiddos have each other.

2 thoughts on “Siblings

  1. My brother and I are 12 years apart. He’s like the son I never had LOL. I always wanted a sister close in age. They are so cute together. Elijah looks like such a little man! Both beautiful kids!

  2. I really wanted to write you an e mail, but couldn’t find your e mail address!! I just wanted to tell you thank you for the sweet comment you left on my blog yesterday. It made me laugh so hard too, and also made me know that I had a friend in you. Your so precious and I just wanted to tell you thank you for being so genuine!

Leave a Reply

