Present

When I think back over my childhood, I remember all the fun I had. I would spend the entire day pretending, playing and exploring. I had no to-do lists running through my mind or expectations of myself. I didn’t live from guilt. I was who I was. I lived in the present.

 The innocence of childhood is beautiful—it’s a gift. But it comes at a cost to others, they care for you; they worry for you; they carry the load. As an adult you must prepare, think ahead, and be responsible. Which also comes a price…you become your own load bearer and that of others.

 I think one area I need to work on is finding the balance between being naïve/free (like a child) and being obligated/burdened (like an adult). My life does not have be dictated by the things I feel I MUST do. The lists are not my god. I don’t always have to plan ahead. I can live a life of adventure. I can enjoy just living…in the present.

Two posts in one day, say what? 😉 Well I just happened upon this fun blog and link party a few weeks ago and wanted to join in again today. It only took me five minutes during a brief pumping break at work. It is so fun to write with such freedom.

Click here to read all about it. If anyone else wants to join in on the fun, please let me know as I would love to read your post.

5 thoughts on “Present

  1. Hi Ali, I’m new to the Five Minute Friday this week. It was great reading your post. I loved how you wrote about others carrying the load for you when you’re a child. So perfectly said. I think it’s great that you are trying to find the balance!

  2. My dear Ali, words from one who has grown older smart. Live your life to the fullest. Don;t let your life get consumed in Work, To DO LISTS, cleaning the house and the “I MUST DO THIS OR THAT”! enjoy life, enjoy your beautiful kids and husband, Most importantly HAVE FUN!:) One more thing. GOD is GOD.:) I love you and am very proud of you. Donna

  3. Thanks for sharing your heart! I really enjoyed your contrast of childhood and adulthood. I agree we need to find the balance in our lives between being completely carefree with no responsibility and being so structured and calendar oriented that we have no time for spotinaity 🙂

Leave a Reply

