Real Life

I happened upon a blog post {via a friend’s FB post} about a week or two ago about mom’s taking pictures with their kids. If I were more organized I would have that link for you but unfortunately I don’t. Forgive me.

Basically, the post was written by a mom who encouraged other mother’s to stop worrying about what they look like or making excuses for not taking pictures with their kids. Our kids don’t really care that our hair is perfect or that we are the perfect size. They love us for who we are and will want to have pictures with us in them.

While I do try to make a point of taking pictures with Elijah and Ella, I know that sometimes I prefer to be behind the camera when my hair is a mess or I am not wearing any make up. After reading the blog post, I decided that I wanted to take some “real” pictures with Elijah.

I sat the camera on the stairs {on a self-timer} and we posed in different ways. After each picture was taken Elijah wanted to look at it and take another one. He had a great time. 

As you can see, some of the pictures are blurry, we have silly faces in most of them and my hair is a hot mess. But…I really do treasure each one. And you know what else I treasure? The pictures that I have of my mom when we were both a bit younger. It is so fun to see her back then, especially now that I am a mom myself.

All this to say…don’t worry about how you look and just take some pictures with your kids. If you care to share, post a link in the comments to your own blog post. I would love to see that I am not the only one who doesn’t wear make-up all the time or who has crazy hair days. 🙂

~~~~~~

update…here is the link to the blog post: click here

3 thoughts on “Real Life

Leave a Reply

