A change of seasons

This year I really didn’t want summer to end.

I felt like I hadn’t really gotten to enjoy the weather or the activities that the season had to offer. I was extremely pregnant for June and July and to top it off it was the hottest summer in Denver that I can remember. Something like a bagillion {yes that is a real number} days of temps over 90 degrees and not a drop of rain. It was hot and my utility bill is proof. I never went swimming or hiking or even for a evening jog.  On the 4th of July, I pretty much just plopped my feet in a baby pool filled with cold hose water and ate ice chips. It was glamorous I tell you.

Then I had Ella and felt free. I had about 3 weeks to enjoy the season before I felt the fall breeze brush up against my shoulders. And I was sad. I didn’t want summer to end.

But the leaves in my front yard have changed to a beautiful shade of yellow and burnt orange. None of my complaining or clinging or bartering kept summer here any longer than God had purposed. Summer 2012 was set aside to bring the sweetest, loveliest little girl into the world. It was not for swimming.

And in realizing and eventually accepting this {silly as it seems}, I learned a lesson. We may hope for certain seasons in our life to be longer or shorter or different but this is to no avail. We truly can do nothing other than discover and embrace the purpose of a specific time…otherwise we may miss its blessing all together.

So here I sit, with a sweet summer baby to my left and a cool breeze floating through my home. I am going to go forward, embracing this new season and being thankful for what was gleaned from the last.

**Click photo to enlarge

And now do tell, what is something you are looking forward to or hope to do this Fall? Or maybe share something that you learned this past summer. I would love to know. 🙂

5 thoughts on “A change of seasons

  1. Oh, I am so jealous of your lovely fall weather! It’s surprisingly cool here right now, then back up to our 80 degree weather. I’m actually a huge fan of fall weather; can we trade?!! Texas is just too hot in the summer! So glad it’s “officially” fall, though! I love doing all those things you listed. Can’t wait to see pics of the kiddies in their costumes :).

  2. I’m looking forward to making it through–it’s still 100 degrees here, no joke! I’m also looking forward to visiting my fairy godchildren, to finishing the work I’ve been doing with the refugees (been working hard on a new curriculum)–and just getting to be outside a little more. Simple pleasures! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Honestly… |

Leave a Reply

