Dear Elijah,

You never cease to amaze me. I am so thankful to have you as my son. I am so thankful to the Lord for entrusting us with raising you. I would have it no other way.

This summer was full of a lot of changes. You turned two and became a big brother. That’s a lot of such a little boy.

People told me that you would have a hard time adjusting and that your sister’s arrival would be challenging. I received a lot of advice about how to prepare you to be a big brother and I listened to some of it. We moved you into your big boy bed without much trouble {thank you!} just after your birthday. We talked about Ella being in my belly and you learned how to say her name {even before you learned how to say your own}. It was pretty funny {to me} that you would sometimes get confused and point to daddy’s tummy and say her name. 🙂

Then I went into labor and you knew something was up. You started misbehaving and even pushed me a couple times. The funny thing was it actually helped with the pain. Once she was born, you came to the hospital and had no interest whatsoever in the little baby everyone was holding. You would rather push all of the buttons in the room or gulp down my diet root beer–I don’t blame you it was good. When we came home some of our family said not to force Ella on you. They said that you would need time. They were wrong.

From the moment you saw her, you lavished your sweet love upon her. You have been nothing but kind and attentive to her. You kiss her and hug her a hundred times a day. You care about her needs being met and always want to know where she is. We went to the doctor the other day and when she made Ella cry, you couldn’t stand it. You started crying and telling the doctor to stop. You are fiercely protective of her. If someone tries to hold her and you aren’t a fan, you tell them “no!”

I wish I could say that my parenting is what taught you to be this way but God knows the truth. He made you this way. He formed you and put an extra dose of sweetness and protectiveness in your spirit. He also answered my prayer when I asked him to prepare your heart. I am so thankful.

Mostly I am really just proud of you, so proud! I am also so happy for Ella–she has the best brother in the world!

It’s all over your face—Pure Love

6 thoughts on “Dear Elijah,

  1. this post brought tears to my eyes! Elijah has such a pure heart, and I’m so glad it shows with the birth of baby Ella. They make the sweetest, most darling pair in the whole, wide world. Proud fairy godmother, too! 🙂

  2. I love that SWEET boy!! God knows our hearts desires and is so very faithful! Ali your passion for God and dedication to his will for your family is such a blessing! I LOVE YOU!!

  3. Saweeeeeeet! So glad that he is doing so well with his new super cute sister! Every kid is different and I am so happy for your little family.

Leave a Reply

