It is possible…

for me to run a 5k at 30 weeks pregnant!

When my friend Laura asked me if I wanted to sign up for the Color Run, I was only 20ish weeks pregnant. I wasn’t sure I could do it but thought it might be a great motivator to stay in shape throughout the next 10 weeks. David loved the idea so we forked over the cash and registered back in March.

To be completely honest, I haven’t been working out much since. My schedule is a bit tight in the  “me time” section so I don’t really make it to the gym. I love to take Elijah on runs {in the jogging stroller} but a few weeks ago a 2 mile run almost put me into labor. I think that pushing a 30 lb stroller, a 30 lb kid, being pregnant and running was a bit much. Since then, I have been taking it easy and wondering how I would be able to run 3.25 miles with an even bigger belly.

A few weeks ago David, being the humble man he is, promised to run, walk or crawl with me for the entire race so I wouldn’t have to be alone. I was happy to know that at least I wouldn’t be lonely as I huffed and puffed along. 🙂

Then at the last moment, the person who was watching E for us backed out and we had to bring him and the jogging stroller along during the race. Thankfully this was a race that allowed them. We tried to cover the stroller the best we good and prayed that the “colors” wouldn’t ruin it forever. David pushed E most of the way. He did cry a few times…Elijah not David..but mostly loved watching all the action as he downed a couple granola bars throughout the race {a toddler had to stay properly fueled!}.  I am happy to report that I only had to walk for about 3 minutes when Ella decided to flip positions in utero. Go figure, running without having to push an extra 60 pounds is considerably less painful.

The funny thing was how people were almost afraid to squirt my belly with color. David and I ran the exact same way for the entire race but he was considerably more colorful than me. Elijah came out looking pretty clean too. 🙂

If you ever have the chance, I would wholeheartedly recommend this race. It was tons of fun, low stress, benefits charity and is obviously good for ALL ages.

3 thoughts on “It is possible…

  1. I don’t know how you did it. That’s great, though. You must be super healthy. I have anemia again with this pregnancy so just vacuuming the house and taking a shower makes me feel like passing out. :/

  2. You are an amazing woman, Ali! You look GREAT. Sounds like such a blast–what a nice thing to be able to do with all four of you. Hope you get to feel that sense of accomplishment with such a goal attained! Nothin’ like it! 🙂

  3. …Just wanted to drop by and say hello, and that I’ve been thinking of you! Hope you’re doing well and that you all had a lovely Father’s Day weekend :). Miss your posts!

Leave a Reply

