Dumpster Diving

Around lunch time yesterday, Elijah and I sat in the front yard enjoying our pb&j sandwiches with some watermelon and a blue-raspberry Otter pop. It was delicious.

It’s pretty darn hot here right now so I we decided to take a dip in the pool.

Yeah we have a pool…

Before you get too jealous, it’s in the shape of a fish and is only about 3 feet wide.

I put my feet in {because that is all of me that will really fit} and Elijah took a little dip.

That is when I noticed our neighbors across the street putting out their trash. Usually I wouldn’t give their trash a second thought but they put out a Little Tikes slide right next to their trash can.

I just sat and starred at it for a while thinking about what I should do.

I looked to see if anyone was watching. I text David to see what he thought I should do. I played with Elijah and tried to pretend it wasn’t sitting there.

Finally David responded and told me to just go and grab it.

So as discretely as possible {but really not at all}, Elijah, Turbo and I went to get the slide and drug it across the street. It was super classy.

Once I got it back into our yard, I washed it off a million times and found absolutely nothing wrong with it. Score!

Elijah now thinks I am the best-mom-EVER because our pool has a slide!ย However, we will now have to start swimming the backyard just in case the neighbors drive by and recognize their slide…

p.s. An added bonus, I just checked online to see that the same slide {new} would cost $99. I love to save a few bucks {even at the expense of my social standing with my neighbors}. Anyone want to come over for a playdate? ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

7 thoughts on “Dumpster Diving

  1. I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hey, I would’ve done the same thing :D. Mirabel would love to come over for a playdate! Too bad we’re 2000 miles away! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I think Elijah is going to one day respect you highly for having done that, Ali. It’s a sign of a good mother–sacrificing “class” for her child. Oh, what un-dignified things my mother has done for us… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That is fabulous! You think they would have donated it or SOMETHING! Go you for getting it. We have a cabinet in our living room that we “rescued” from the trash. SADLY, it has a bumper stuck to it that has a pic of a dog with the words, “I leave more personality in tightly coiled piles on the lawn.” Um gross! Looking forward to Thursday and seeing your treasure!

  4. Ok, don’t tell anyone but we used to dumpster dive every Sunday night when we lived in Denver. We still have some of the stuff from that experience. Ben made HUNDREDS (for real) from getting stuff, fixing it and selling it. Do you know how many mowers we got…Live over 10! We still talk about how awesome that was ๐Ÿ™‚ No shame missy…You just got a super steal!!

Leave a Reply

