Unrealized dreams

We all have them. Things that we hope for, wish for, pine for that have yet to come to fruition.

There is always the temptation to let those dreams go and acknowledge that life does at times disappoint…because it does.

But if we stop dreaming, I believe that we stop living. Settling for less than what you think is best is giving up–it’s dying while still having a beating heart.

I have a dream that I have been trying to let go of. I don’t want to keep it anymore because I fear that it may not come true. This fear {of disappointment} paralyzes my mind; and the reality of waiting weeks, months and years is, at times, daunting. I trick myself into thinking that if I just accept that what I want will not be that I will stay safe.

Yet something deep inside my heart will not let me be content living a life of only what I can imagine will be.

God is so much bigger than what I think is possible.

So I am going to keep dreaming and wishing and hoping…

Wanna know one of my crazy dreams*? I will tell you but only if you promise to share one of yours in the comments below.

My dream?

**

I would love have my very own horse.

I want him to be tall and black.

I want his name to be Samson.

I would even love to have a house on a piece of land where I could have a barn for him to live in.

And I would ride him as often as possible {Western style of course}.

**

Now it’s your turn…

4 thoughts on “Unrealized dreams

  1. I have a dream that one day My dad could have a house again with a little yard and a fence so that I could have a miniture Sheltie again. A little dog to love and cherish would be just be grand.

  2. I have always had a dream of owning my own race car. Metallic blue with a firebird on the front and my name on the back. I had a Pontiac Grand Am which was the closest thing to what I ever imagined I would ever have. I loved my car until one day someone crashed into it and the damage became beyond repair. I cried and cried. God spoke to my heart and reminded me that we must store our treasures in heaven and not here on earth. What we have here is only for a little while. God is the one who brings us all the wonderful blessings we have in life, and sometimes things are taken away to draw us closer to him. At this moment I realize how mighty and great God is, and I am thankful for life. I do dream of owning another very cool car.:)

  3. I used to dream of having a horse – but now i’d say my greatest dream is to build a house on an acreage with a wraparound porch,a huge garden and tons of space for my kids to run around and play…i don’t know if we’ll ever have enough money to move out of the suburbs, but I dream of it someday!

  4. My wish, well I think you know it. And I too, feel the push to give up on it.

    But I love your wish, and I can see you ridding through the beautiful mountains with and the mane of sampson blowing in the wind.

    love ya friend

Leave a Reply

