Speaking of Traditions…

I seem to have started a new one.

Last year, on the eve of Thanksgiving, I woke up to horrible stomach pains. Being newly pregnant I remember worrying that I could be miscarrying. Not too long after that exact thought, I found myself wrenching over the toilet into the wee hours of Thanksgiving morning. I knew the culprit–the chicken I had the night before at Outback Steakhouse. It tasted funny and I thought it was effects of being pregnant on my taste-buds.

The not-so-funny thing was that we were hosting Thanksgiving that day in our new home. Since I had both morning sickness and food poisoning I was NO help to David. He cooked the whole meal himself while I camped out on the couch. Needless to say I didn’t really get to enjoy that day that much.

365 days later I found myself sick once again. Thankfully it was not food poisoning or morning sickness {I’m still not quite ready to bear another child} just the flu. Wednesday night the nausea began and then the body aches. The symptoms have continued through today and once again Thanksgiving has come and gone with out me enjoying any turkey. Even thinking about yummy green bean casserole makes me nauseous right now.

But being sick has given me some time to slow down a little.

I haven’t been doing much resting lately and hardly finding anytime to even blog. Today, per David’s orders, I have sat on the couch most of the day. I have done no laundry, no cleaning, and Elijah is out with David and his mom so I am able to really rest. I took a long shower, watched a good movie and have napped on and off throughout the day. It is nice. I am still not feeling great but I am still trying to be thankful.

I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday.

Even sick, I have more than enough things in my life to be thankful for.

4 thoughts on “Speaking of Traditions…

  1. Sorry to hear that you weren’t feeling well on the holiday! Ugh, what a pain. I’m glad you got some down time, though. And hey, the experts actually say that the occasional catching-of-flu is a sign of health, so yay! 🙂

    You’re amazin’, Ali. I am thankful for you and your amazingness!

  2. Pingback: We’re the Farmer’s «

  3. There is a bug making its rounds, you weren’t the only one who spent their turkey day on the couch. Glad you are feeling better and that your hubby was able to take over Elijah duty so you could recover.

Leave a Reply

