Confessions of a soon-to-be homeowner

I can’t believe that we move into our new home in 3 horribly loooooong weeks!!! {insert girl-scream here}

I am so excited and have been spending many of my waking hours contemplating an entirely new color scheme for the main floor and how I will decorate the other rooms in our new abode.  Mr. Budget {not my dear husband but our actual budget that we endearingly refer to as a person, named Mr. Budget, so that we can deflect all of our negative money saving energy on him instead of each other} keeps trying to warn me that all of the ideas I have swimming around in my head will not be reality the first weekend we move in. But its really hard to hear him shouting his wise words to me as I decorating in my mind. Please pray for me.

This weekend I casually suggested to my hubby that we should go to Target so I could show him the rug that I would like to purchase for the dining area in our new kitchen. I was so excited to see the rug that I have been secretly lusting over still there that I hugged it like it was my long, lost BFF. He was not so excited about the aforementioned floor covering. Maybe he was jealous that I was hugging it or maybe he didn’t like the colors…hmmm. Anyway that interaction with the rug has prompted my post and plea for your input.

I would like to know if you even slightly like the rug that I am thinking about being my sole inspiration for decorating our main level. Please be honest {while using an alternative name, email and website address so that we can still be friends after you give me your opinion}.

Here is what I am thinking:

My Rug

The cabinets and flooring in the kitchen a light oak finish like this:

oak finish

And my couch looks like this

Couch

I am envisioning putting various colored pillows on the couch (that would match the rug). I bought this couch about 4 years ago and decorated around the color scheme of the pillows that are pictured here. I still kinda like the pillows but have noticed more and more people with the same ones an I would like to be a little more original and use some different colors.

Ok, now it’s your turn…

Am I way off base with the rug? Is it ugly and I just don’t know it??

10 thoughts on “Confessions of a soon-to-be homeowner

  1. it is different, but its an Ali type of thing, so it is neat. I think you should pick up the orange and the yellowish colors……
    excited to see what you end up with.

  2. I really do like the rug, but only if you have solid colored pillow, towels, placemats, panties – oh I guess panties wouldn’t actually matter. 🙂 I don’t like too many patterns in the same room, it makes my head hurt. xo Oh, and make sure it is big enough, nothing worse than a rug too small for the room/furniture – you may remember that from your childhood. 😦

  3. Um yes, I love that rug because I have TWO of them in my house! I have the runner in my foyer and the small one in front of our back door. Everyone who comes in and sees it loves it, too. So my vote is for YES! 🙂

  4. Ya, i was gonna say…KALEY has that rug 🙂 I vote yes too. Here’s the thing with that rug [my inner interior designer self coming out] it’s wool with means that it will last for a realllly long time. Wool is the best lasting rug and then when you’re sick of it in your dining room or wherever move it to you bedroom. Tell that to Mr. Budget…I guess you can tell your husband too. DO IT.

    AND…we were first time home buyers three years ago and STILL don’t have the house the way we like it. It’s a never ending battle. It will all get done in due time 🙂

  5. I can totally relate to you with not wanting to listen to Mr. Budget! We moved into our house 6 months ago and it’s nowhere near the way I’d like it to be — I guess that goes with being a homeowner! You are going to have so much fun decorating though!

    And I LOVE the rug! I agree with your mom on not having too many patterns but I think it’d be easy to find some solids to go with it! Can’t wait to see pictures of the house once you get all moved in!!

  6. Super Cute Rug! I say go for it! Looks like you’ve got a great start!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad to know that you are normal. lol :0) You are welcome back anytime!

    Amber

  7. I really like the rug and the colors! Go with it Ali…hopefully we can get into a home in November and then I will need YOUR help decorating! You are really good! I’m so excited for you guys!

Leave a Reply

